Sports & Games


After two draws in this Butikiro group, one of the other games is to be played this afternoon at the 2020 Masaza Cup at the FUFA Technical Centre –Njeru as teams head into their second games after the first game. In the first game, Mawogola has put three past Ssingo. Goals courtesy of Alex Mutebi in the 34th and 70th minute and later a header from substitute Kibilango before the second game at 3pm as Buluuli will take on Butambala. This has been the first game for Mawogola in the tournament with the other three teams on the course of playing their second games in the group.

Jamada Magaasi the fitness coach at Kampala Junior Team and coach at Mawogola said ” As Mawogola team, we have prepared well enough for the tournament. As we play the first game, we have seen what our opponents can do. The players are physically and mentally ready for the battle at hand,” before the game that The head coach of Mawogola Ddungu Simon, contrived COVID-19 so he wasn’t available for the game and Coach Magaasi took over matters for this given period of time.

This tournament officially began on Saturday in a game that ended in a one all draw in the presence of the King of Buganda Kingdom, His Majesty Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi I. Goals from Sharif Nsereko 23’ for Butambala and Tomas Kakaire the former Uganda Cubs player for Bulemeezi in the second half.

Coast Simon Peter Mugerwa with his Bulemeezi team.

In the second game just like the first one, the spoils were shared too between Buluuli and Ssingo through a Henry Tenywa strike and later Joseph Ssewali equalizer.

Joseph Ssewali in action.

All the five teams in the Butikiro group are accommodated at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru and those in the Masengere group will report on the 27th December 2020 just after a Christmas break on the 21st December 2020 a day when the final game of the Butikiro group.

A recap of the previous winners;

  • 2020 – ???
  • 2019 – Bulemeezi
  • 2018 – Singo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba
Show More

Mugalu Jeremiah

Audio- Visual Journalist / Sports Writer / Motivational speaker / BALL IS MY DRUG

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button