National News

Makerere University sets dates for reopening & graduation.

Makerere University is ready to receive first year students next week for the first time since the COVID-19 lock-down. President Yoweri Museveni ordered the closure of schools, universities and all tertiary institutions as a move to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus.

Towards the end of the year, a phased reopening was started with students in their final years and those in candidate classes. But now, Makerere has revealed that they are ready to have all their students; starting with freshers and later continuing students who will join after a week. The ‘Freshers Orientation’ will take a week, from Saturday January 30 to February 5. The semester will then start February 6.


Also set on the new academic timetable released today is the 71st graduation week, set for March 16 to March 19.

2020/2021 Academic YEAR

Fresher’s Orientations Saturday: 30th January to Friday: 5th February 2021 (7 days )

Semester One: Saturday: 6th February 2021 to Saturday 8th May 2021 (13 weeks

Semester One Holiday Break: Saturday: 8th May 2021 to Saturday 15th May 2021 (1 week)

Semester Two: Saturday: 15th May 2021 to Saturday 14th August 2021 (13 weeks )

Recess Term Saturday: 14th August 2021 to Saturday 11th September 2021 (4 weeks )

71st Graduation Week: Tuesday: 16th March 2021 to Friday 19th March 2021

Tags
Show More

Ssentongo Patrick Kibira

Journalism Scholar / Creative Writer / News Reporter / PR Guru / Friendship Couch / Corporate MC / TV & Radio Host / Boy Child Rights Advocate / Expert Speaker / ~ CRAFTING STORIES FOR VIRTUAL REALITY~

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close
Close